Search | Watch Thread  |  My Post History  |  My Watches  |  User Settings
View: Flat (newest first)  | Threaded  | Tree
Previous Thread  |  Next Thread
Uses of C++ for non-algorithms | Reply
I've used C++ for things like these:
* school assignments
* personal one time or other small projects
* algorithm contests

Has anyone used C++ for significant jobs not related to the types above ?

I am asking, because, when I wrote code for a living "a job", it was usually not C++. For websites I've used PHP, for small applications I've used C# or Java, and still most of those were for school. Have you used C++ for other things than then ones I've listed ?
Re: Uses of C++ for non-algorithms (response to post by dennismv) | Reply
Are you asking about TC members experience specifically, or are you just asking in general, who uses C++ for non-trivial things?

If you mean just in general, here is a list of software developed in C++.

It's rather impressive. :-)
Re: Uses of C++ for non-algorithms (response to post by royappa) | Reply
I am asking because I have an existential C++ crisis.

I know a subset of C++ that generally allows me to use it for CLI (command line interface) programs, which is not that much, considering the wide range of applications for which C++ can be used. The GUI C++ experience I've had was a couple of random MFC program I wrote and a class on using MFC. I don't know Windows API, which is probably what I am missing, since somewhere I feel that I "should" or "want to" write applications for Windows in C++. Looking further however, I don't think I want to write applications for Windows, unless perhaps I find a job with an already established company that does that.