JOIN
Get Time
forums   
Search | Watch Thread  |  My Post History  |  My Watches  |  User Settings
View: Flat (newest first)  | Threaded  | Tree
Previous Thread  |  Next Thread
Interview on Friday - Panicking!!! | Reply
TC got me in for a stage one phone screening with a certain, unnamed financial institution that's sponsoring the TCO06. ;) It's this Friday. My recruiter was unclear; I think I'm being considered for their mid-to-senior Java developer position.

I really want this opportunity and I'm petrified that I'm unqualified.

Has anyone else met with them? What are they looking for? I don't even have an undergrad degree; the one I'm pursuing is in Business Admin. My experience is all business intelligence: no hardcore IT. I'm a self-taught programmer, and am self-taught in algorithms, with no formal math or science exposure beyond pre-college calculus. I've never done real Java server work. I don't think I fit their mold.

I'm assuming that the job will be on a team that develops the plumbing components for their trading platform. It will be multithreading and I/O heavy, with a huge focus on latency. I've devoured 1200 pages over the past 2 days on concurrent programming, I/O, and Java NIO. I've even picked up 2 quantitative finance texts for good measure, and am starting on those.

Is there anything that I'm missing? Should I be looking at JVM console/administration type stuff? Maybe testing platforms? How about getting a handle on the FIX protocol?

I really want this opportunity, and am willing to study my butt off to catch up. Is this enough? Or will they only take someone who can hit the ground running?

If anyone who's met with these guys (especially if they were successful) can shed any light, I would REALLY appreciate it.

Thanks!
Re: Interview on Friday - Panicking!!! (response to post by entaroadun) | Reply
One thought. If you want this job you shouldn't post things like " I don't think I fit their mold" here, it's likely they read this forum too. :)