JOIN
Get Time
forums   
Search | Watch Thread  |  My Post History  |  My Watches  |  User Settings
View: Flat (newest first)  | Threaded  | Tree
Previous Thread  |  Next Thread
[ 1 2 ]    NEXT >
int's and long's | Reply
I'm a Java programmer, so I'm curious...

What is the difference between a C++ int and a C++ long? They both use the same number of bits, and they have the same range of numbers.

And, by the way, this is a great and informative article. Thanks, misof!
Re: int's and long's (response to post by thecalcgenius) | Reply
They're not always the same. As misof said in the article, int is always guaranteed to have at least 16 bits, and long is guaranteed to have at least 32 bits. With the setup that TC uses (x86 hardware and g++) they happen to have the same number of bits and therefore the same range, but it's not always the case.
Re: int's and long's (response to post by aussie) | Reply
What are the determining factors,such that, within a certain architeture a type will have a certain size? In your case(x86 hardware and g++), why is long and int the same?

Is it not the case that some types are derivable from fundamental ones? Therefore it must follow that "long" can be standardised to be 32 bits and "int" to be 16 bits regardlesss of hardware because the compiler can take care of the implementation at higher level if the hardware cannot rep a type.
I am also a Java programmer. I would like to know whether the information in the article can be applied to Java programs?
Re: int's and long's (response to post by dimkadimon) | Reply
It can. Just ignore the parts about the data type "long long" and all the unsigned data types.
Re: int's and long's (response to post by mafoko) | Reply
int is supposed to be the word size of the machine, that is the size such that operations are optimized for it. x86 machines are optimized for 32 bits, so we can have ints being the same as longs.