JOIN
Get Time
forums   
Search | Watch Thread  |  My Post History  |  My Watches  |  User Settings
View: Flat (newest first)  | Threaded  | Tree
Previous Thread  |  Next Thread
Languages | Reply
It is not to often that you get a chance to break in a forum or community site. So, I decided to open up with languages.

My maine concern really isn't that this site integrate alot of languages, but that it integrate one or two languages really well. This site allready has the jump on java, (might I add that it is the best development environment that I have delt with). C++ would be another great language to have, but I suggest, and I can't believe I am saying this, stay away from it. Instead investigate C#. After all the last generation of C++ compilers have allready come out on the market.

To give you an idea of my style, i am creating a game engine in C++. I am a beginner in java, but can relate it to C++ enough so that it does not seem to hard. UNC Cahrlotte has a rough IT college coarse, and it is mainly Unix Based, so I am learning the windows side of C++ pretty much on my own.

As for other languages not mentioned it would be a nice challange for the pros out there who feel like creating an online compiler for thier favorite languages, and this would be a great site to host those compilers.

Basically my main choices of language support are:

Java
C#
C++

in that order, otherwise I doing c++ first would be staying behind the tech curve.

Thoughts from any one else?
Re: Languages (response to post by MadACR) | Reply
As all of the problems I've seen to date are rather simple caculations, I think lisp/scheme would be an interesting language to have available! Of course no one would use it (even most of the AI strongholds for lisp are switching over to Java), but it would be damn cool to have it there anyway!
I'll have to disagree with C#.

First of all, the language is only in beta. The details are still open to change.