JOIN
Get Time
forums   
Search | Watch Thread  |  My Post History  |  My Watches  |  User Settings
View: Flat (newest first)  | Threaded  | Tree
Previous Thread  |  Next Thread
Setting up your environment for an SRM | Reply
Re: Setting up your environment for an SRM (response to post by vijay03) | Reply
Looks good, but I'd add a lot more explanation about functionality of different plugins and their installation. Personally I still use PopsEdit, compile using Arena and test each case one-by-one, mostly because I've totally failed installing anything more advanced. Discussion of other languages and IDEs compatible with different plugins is also a must.

Also we need more info about basic Arena running - using applet instead of application, different settings of connection, commands used to ask admins questions etc. These are minor things but can be a real pain for a new person.
Re: Setting up your environment for an SRM (response to post by Nickolas) | Reply
I'm not an expert at the different plugins used - I've hardly used anything other than KawigiEdit. And I don't have much information about IDEs compatible with other languages as well.

My view on this recipe is that it is not meant to be comprehensive - Just as a starting point, with links provided so that interested members can go look it up.
Re: Setting up your environment for an SRM (response to post by Nickolas) | Reply
A rewrite of the recipe.

Problem:

You want to set up the TopCoder Arena so that you can solve problems in the Practice Rooms and participate in SRMs.

Solution:

Let us tackle this in 3 parts: Running the Arena, navigating the Arena and using plugins (optional).

Running the Arena:
The TopCoder Arena can be launched directly from the TopCoder website via JNLP (Java Network Launching Protocol) - simply choose "Algorithm" -> "Launch Arena" from "Competitions" menu. You will need Java Runtime Environment and Java Web Start for it to run.

Navigating the Arena: