JOIN
Get Time
forums   
Search | Watch Thread  |  My Post History  |  My Watches  |  User Settings
View: Flat (newest first)  | Threaded  | Tree
Previous Thread  |  Next Thread
Fresher Job Search, India | Reply
Hello,

I am an undergraduate student IIIT, Jabalpur, India going to pass out in April 2009. I need some suggestions/tips for offline placement.

My current CPI is 8.2 and overall good academic record. I know the recession has made things worse and it very difficult to get offline job for fresher who has no experience. I have registered at Naukri and Monster but thats not helping (may be because I am inexperienced). I am an algorithm and programming enthusiast and want a job in my field of interest. I participate in many programming contests and lately my position is improving but I could not much participate at topcoder mainly because of timing issues.

Basically I need to take some initiatives on my own for a job and I am clueless as what they should be. Any comments/sugesstions are welcome.
Re: Fresher Job Search, India (response to post by nomind) | Reply
Campus placements are always the best place to get recruited. If there is one going in your campus then you must seriously give it a try.

I wonder if no company visited/plans to visit IIIT ?

It appears from your post that you want to work on some research in the field of algorithms. Companies these days are in no mood to take chances. Most of them aren't recruiting and if they do, they want some one who can hit the ground running from day one.

Having had gone through a slowdown earlier, I have a few points that I can share based on my earlier experience.

• The first point I would tell you is not to get frustrated.

• Explore your network