forums   
Search | Watch Thread  |  My Post History  |  My Watches  |  User Settings
View: Flat (newest first)  | Threaded  | Tree
Previous Thread  |  Next Thread
[ 1 2 3 4 ]    NEXT >
Experiences with hiring... | Reply
Re: Experiences with hiring... (response to post by jmzero) | Reply
Thanks for the stories!
This forum (General employment) is very instuctive overall, but posts like yours definitely bring something valuable to the community.
Don't you have a CS degree yourself? If you have you must have gotten it at a better university than the one I got my (maths) degree. Otherwise you would have known you barely need any skills to acquire a CS degree. Let's just say I know you were not exaggerating.
Re: Experiences with hiring... (response to post by dskloet) | Reply
Interesting. I've always thought the same about CS degrees here, but I was pretty sure that this was a flaw of the french universities..
What about other countries ? Does `CS degree' mean anything there ?
Re: Experiences with hiring... (response to post by broutcha) | Reply
I haven't seen any 'CS' degrees in Brisbane, but the Information Technology degree with CS major at my university is the same.
Re: Experiences with hiring... (response to post by broutcha) | Reply
Wow - then I guess I'm really lucky to study in Warsaw.
Re: Experiences with hiring... (response to post by dskloet) | Reply
It's the same in the UK where they are seen as vocational courses that churn out candidates with basic Java/C++/SQL skills who have had very little exposure to problem solving.
Re: Experiences with hiring... (response to post by Krzysan) | Reply
How is it in Warsaw? Is it hard to get a CS degree? As hard as a math one?
It's clear you're exaggerating a lot.